my favorite lamb burgers

While they’re definitely burgers and The Fiance’ ate his on a bun, I ate mine in a wrap.  Because I love wraps. Once upon a time, many moons ago, a server at TacoMac told me I could order pretty much anything on their menu and ask for it to be in a wrap. I immediately ordered a bacon cheeseburger wrap and it was awesome that way, so this was what I thought of with the lamb.

Image

First off, I got this recipe here and have been using it for a long time. I don’t change anything in this recipe because I think it’s fabulous as it is.

Credit given where it’s due. And yes, I know that it was meant to be made into kebabs, but I don’t do things the way you’re supposed to do them. I just knew I wanted the flavor of the kofta kebab. Trust me – you do, too.

  • 1 pound ground lamb
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 tablespoons grated onion
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon*
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

* I misread this and only used ½ teaspoon – it was noticeably different from all the other times I made it, but not bad. Do not leave out the cinnamon. It may sound weird, but it’s delicious and works perfectly with these other spices. Make it as it is written the first time at least and then amend from there. I almost always adjust recipes, but this one if perfect the way it is.

Mix it all together, form patties and grill. Again, had to pan fry mine since I don’t have a grill yet (damn apartment living).

And the tzatziki sauce I tweaked from a few recipes to get what I wanted (so I call it mine!). I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge to marry flavors. I also used too much garlic (and I love garlic), so I cut the amount below

Tzatziki Sauce

  • 2 6oz containers of 0% plain Chobani
  • ½ of an English cucumber – seeded and peeled
  • Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1- 2 garlic cloves
  • Juice of ½ of a lemon
  • 1 T mint
  • Drizzle of olive oil

I placed the peeled, seeded cucumber in the food processor with the garlic, lemon juice and mint. Once it was pulverized, I drained the water out (lots of water in cucumbers and will make the sauce runny if you don’t drain – if you like it runny then don’t drain). Combine everything, cover and refrigerate.

Like I said, I made mine into a wrap with red onion, tomato, cucumber slices, feta and the tzatziki sauce.  It was delicious.  I could see adding some red pepper hummus (I prefer the Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus. I have attempted a homemade version, but think this one is pretty damn good and priced low enough to make it worth it).

Leave a comment